Who is that girl I see?

 

When I was a prep school I wanted to be doctor.

When I was in fifth grade and my grandfather died, I wanted to be a surgeon.

Then I was diagnosed with a heart disease and I wanted to be heart surgeon.

After college, I waited for months before getting employed.

Those were the days when I wanted to go to medical school and pursue my dreams. I searched for possible schools, looked for requirements but I never took the NMAT.  I don’t know but for some reason I waited for the right moment, right time and it came.

Now I realized that I don’t have to be a Gregory House, Cristina Yang or Meredith Grey to save lives. We were just stereotypes who think that nurses are the doctor’s handmaid. We are not.

And if you ask me now if I still wanted to be in medical school, I’d say sometimes I still do especially when I have doctors around who inspire me but most of the time I’m not imagining myself wearing a white coat with a stethoscope on my shoulder anymore. I don’t have to, I look stunning and beautiful in my blue scrub suits with the letters RN attached to my last name. Awesomeness! Proud to be a nurse.:D We rock!

Just Me.For Now.

Katt

